Skip to content

Where’s My Cat?

March 10, 2011

Update: Thank you to those who are helping. There has been no sign of him today or yesterday. He was seen on the 8th running across the street (a very busy intersection) and was under the building on the 9th. Last night it rained which I think kept him where ever he was hiding since he hates water. Hopefully the rain will hold out tonight and he will be back under the building where we can trap him in.

If you have been following me on Twitter you may have seen that my cat is missing. We aren’t sure how he got out. I’m positive that he didn’t go out the door and we have had construction going on in the apartment, but that hole has been covered. On Saturday we found that he was under the apartment in the crawl space, but we couldn’t get him out. Finally we got a call on Monday from  a lady who saw him running across the street headed to a woody area.

Right now I’m a mess. Conrad, my cat, has been with me longer than I’ve been with Russell and longer than I’ve had Bug. Now I’m not one of those people who call their pets their children, but he was part of the family. When I was down he would curl up on my lap purr. When I was sick he would lick my forehead. He would even let Bug hit, I mean pet him, lay on him, and give him kisses.

R is upset and blaming himself  since he almost caught him under the building, but he got scared and ran. I don’t blame him. For a while I let my anger out on the people fixing our bathroom, but it wasn’t their fault either. They are good people who live in my complex. They made sure not only to cover the hole, but block off the bathroom as best they could. One spend all day Sunday climbing under the building to find him. I even blamed myself. When he was seen crossing the street I was out walking with Bug in the area. Did he see me and try to come to me for help? Why didn’t I look harder? Why wasn’t in the right area at the right time? However I needed to remind myself that it wasn’t me. We were going through the bushes, calling his name, and hanging fliers. We have posted on Craigslist and called all the shelters in the area. Both R and I have searched and searched and searched. Nothing.

Add on top of all that my other cat, Sophia, who has just lost her best friend. She walks around all night crying. She has taken to following me around with this confused look on her face (really she has the most expressive face I’ve ever seen on a cat). She doesn’t understand and I can’t help her. Sophia is a special case of her own. She was a rescue that I got 4 1/2 years ago from the Burbank Foster Kitty program. Her socializing skill are poor and to this day she has only bonded with me. Conrad was her BFF. They were the type of buddies that if I came home and found them with matching tattoos I wouldn’t be surprised.

At this moment I have no control of the situation. And trying to understand that is the hardest thing for me to do. In a way I am a control freak. I like having control over decisions and making the calls. However in this situation it is out of my hands. All I can do is keep doing what I’m doing and hope that he either finds his way home, gets picked up and taken to a shelter, or someone else spots him and calls. In my heart I know that but there is a huge disconnect between what my heart knows and what my brain thinks and getting past this place is hard. I feel useless, like I failed and can’t shake that feeling.

Have you ever lost a pet? What happened? Or have you ever struggled over not having control in a situation? How did you handle it?

P.S. To anyone who has ever stopped to look at a missing animal poster thank you. Knowing that there are people out there who care is a great feeling.

P.S.S If you are in the Shoreline, WA area and see an orange and white, male tabby cat please contact me at myreinventedlife@yahoo (dot) com. I know it is a shot in the dark, but it is one I’m willing to take.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

