Skip to content

Smoke On The Water…Yum

March 9, 2011

The best pork came from this grill.

Secret Service

Some good news on the list front. This time I tackled something on my Bucket list. I went to a BBQ competition. This has actually been on my list a long time and was inspired by the Food Network and their constant shows featuring BBQ cook offs, and this was no small affair. Heck, there was even a governor there. One hell of a place to campaign since he is running for Senate.

Smoke on The Water Competition, sponsored by Budweiser, is held in Winter Haven Florida annually. When we arrived I was assuming that we were walking into some small local event that would pit the firefighter, police, and other locals against one another. Was I wrong. This was no family affair. Competitors came from around the country and compete around the US.

R is a huge fan of pulled pork, but ribs are my weakness, but after leaving I became a convert. Between us we shared a rib and 5 pulled pork sandwiches.

I’m not a food critic nor do I know how to give it a proper review, but I was in hog heaven. Every bite was better than the last. The last sandwich we had literally brought tears to my eyes.

This was one item I was very happy to cross off my list. Than again I may on cross it so that I can do it again!

No one stands between R and his pork.

Have you ever been to a cook off?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 8:44 am

    I love BBQ competitions. Never competed in one, too labor intensive. It’s fun to go and eat though.

  2. March 10, 2011 4:08 am

    That sounds so cool and the photos are great! Kisses and enjoy your day

Leave a Reply

