Skip to content

If I Was The Ruler These Would Be My Rules

February 24, 2011

Have you ever saw someone ever struggle to open a door while others just stood around?  I remember when I was 8 months pregnant grocery shopping trying to lift heavy bags of cat food, boxes of soda, or other various heavy items off the bottom shelf. There were more than a dozen times that I can recall guys watching me struggle to bend down and pick up the item all the time no one offering help, but staring me down the whole time. Even now when I’m pushing Bug around in a stroller people will try to squeeze between me and the door when I’m entering a store and trying to prop the door open with my hip. Talk about making my blood boil. It has me thinking about what the world would look like if we just lived by a few simple rules.

1. Help people who need it: It might be a momma struggling getting though the door or a man who has too much in his hands. Put yourself in that persons shoes. Wouldn’t you appreciate some help?

2. Don’t spread the hate: There is enough hate in this world and in our own lives why would we want to invite more of that in? Remember what we learned in Kindergarten: if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all.

3. Be kind: Be abundant with compliments. Make them sincere, but given them often. People really can’t and don’t hear enough good things about themselves.

4. Don’t be a sour puss: Smiling is contagious. It has been proven that smiling can make you feel better. Have you ever smiled at someone who looked sad or upset on the street? A simple smile can turn their day around.

If you could write a code of ethics for people to live by what would you add?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 12:49 pm

    I totally agree with you and I love the list. It would be so much nicer if people would be more polite and helpful:) Happy Thursday, darling
    Kisses

Leave a Reply

