Skip to content

Zen Master Bug?

February 23, 2011


Bug’s emotions are big. When she is happy she is thrilled. She sings, she dances, she claps her hands. When she is mad she is furious. She yells “Nnnoooooo!”, stomps her feet, and throws her body on the floor. Than in the next moment her moods change and she is off on something else. Her feelings are strong and magnified by thousand. When she goes after something she keeps at it until she accomplishes her goal.
Even when she is eating she is totally focused. As she eats she is focused on her food. Chewing it, turning it over looking at it, and adding in the “hmmms” when she thinks something is good. Once the plate is empty she knocks it onto the ground, completely over it. Within that moment she is on to something else and her attention is completely focused on it.
Yesterday as Bug ran in circles R commented on how wonderful it must be to be in the moment that every feeling is magnified.
How wonderful it must be to feel every emotion and be able to focus at what is in front of me. Truthfully I can’t remember the last time I ate a meal and really tasted it or the last time I got to read a book and that was the only thing that I was doing. There are so many things that go on in a normal day that easily I find myself overloaded and stress out. And when things go off track the stress level escalates. Not my daughter. Oh no, when her plans go off track she gets mad, really feels her emotions, and moves on. Maybe it is time I try to be more in the moment like my daughter and not hold onto the past.

When was the last time that you were in the moment?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 6:56 pm

    My little guy is also called bug, and he teaches me these lessons too. Whenever I drop my mental to-do list and just play with him, or rest with him, I feel so in the moment too. I usually don’t do it enough, but have plenty the last few days. Conversely, I also feel very in the moment when I manage to take breaks away from him, and go for a walk or have a bath by myself.

Leave a Reply

