Skip to content

A Little Something For You

February 18, 2011

From an early age we are taught to put others first. We put our job, our families, and even our friends needs before our own. Somewhere along the way we lose ourselves. It might be after that third cup of coffee that you realize that you haven’t spent time with your partner alone in months or that you have gotten less than 10 hours of sleep in the last week trying to put together that presentation for work. Or maybe you just remembered that you need to cancel your yoga class tonight because you promised to help out your friend yet again. Giving of yourself is one of the most amazing things you can do, but when you forget yourself in the process it is time to stop and wonder if you need some change in your life.

First stop. Slow down. Breathe. Just be for a moment. If you can’t do that for at least 5 minutes a day you need to re-haul your schedule. What good are you if you are at one meeting thinking about all the things that you need to get done? If you are running yourself into the ground you will be no use to anyone. How many mistakes do you make when you aren’t able to focus or when you fell run down? Spending a few minutes each day just to yourself is something that you deserve.

Now look at your calendar. Is there an any blank space? Know it is okay to say no. You can’t be everything to everyone. There is no need in trying because you will lose yourself in the process. Saying no isn’t going to destroy your life. People will actually respect you more if you admit that your plate is too full. It shows that you are aware of your limits and understand how to prioritize. If your schedule is still too full delegate some of it. There is no reason why you need to do everything yourself.  Ask for help at work or pass some of the load onto someone else. At home pass on some of the work to your family or recruit some friends.

At the end of the day make sure that you treat yourself. For a long time I denied myself this, but after discovering how amazing a tub of warm water, soft music, bath soaps, and a book are I was a true believer. Maybe lock yourself in your room and read a book or get out and take a yoga class. What ever it is that you need to do to let your mind clear itself out.

What do you do for yourself?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 3:46 pm

    What a great pic!! Looks familiar!!

  2. February 18, 2011 8:33 pm

    I love this. As a mom I often find myself feeling guilty when I take time for myself or spend money on myself.. but I’ve learned that when I don’t, life gets hard and I tend to have a short temper. These days I set aside 2 hours a week for yoga and I don’t let much of anything interfere with it. :] I don’t know if you saw the response on my blog regarding the orchids, but I have more pictures of them here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/33360456@N06

  3. February 18, 2011 9:40 pm

    I totally understand this and I’m totally able to relate to the photograph you’ve attached as well.

    Hm…what do I do for myself? I think saying “no” is big. It can be really difficult to do even to events that are really attractive and fun, but sometimes it can be too overwhelming and I suffer the repercussions of choices afterwards. Sometimes I just need to sit in bed and have my computer and know that I don’t have to rush to go to a dinner or an event and I can just surf mindlessly for a little bit until I need a nap or a snack!

Leave a Reply

