Skip to content

Time Destroys Everything

February 16, 2011

“Time destroys everything.” These three words rocked my world. Simple, yes, but the meaning was more profound than I could imagine. These were words that my world religions teacher kept repeating during our overview of Hinduism in reference to the goddess Kali, who is considered the mother goddess, time, and death. On the other side of the spectrum is Shiva, the creator. Nothing can exist without them. There is no creation without destruction and no destruction without creation.

Okay theology aside there is some truth in the concept. Over time buildings collapse as new ones are constructed, friendships die and new are formed, feelings of love, hate, sadness fade and new one arise. Even our own body gives way to time. It’s not all bad. Feelings of pain, hurt, and unhappiness fade away with. They may never completely disappear, but they lessened with time. There is something that gives me great comfort in that knowledge. Nothing lasts. We change, our world changes. Nothing stays the same. We move on.

Lately my mind has been pondering the impermanence of things. After visiting houses in Kalapana that were built in an area where the lava was flowing I wondered why someone would choose to live on a lava flow. Since Thanksgiving four houses burned down. The most recent went up the night before I went to the area. The owner mourned the loss of her home. Most of her items that she couldn’t move were gone, but she watched her house burn down from a nearby neighbors carport. She was at peace knowing that eventually her house would be reclaimed back to the Earth. The idea of watching my house burn down stuck me hard, but then I thought to myself “time destroys everything.” If it was my house I would be mad. I would be pissed. I sure as hell wouldn’t have built it on lava, but where would these feeling get me? What would happen if I let those feelings build up in me.

It’s easy to get caught up in the idea of idea of something or attach ourselves to a possession or a person, but the more we pull it closer to us the harder it is to let go when it comes time to move on. There is nothing to stop the flow of things as they come and go out of our lives. The only thing we can do is cherish them when it is here and appreciate it when it is gone.

Change should be embrace, because without destruction there is no creation. because when God closes a door he opens a window.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

