Skip to content

Why I Was Avoiding Falling Coconuts and Feral Donkeys

February 7, 2011

Waimea is the largest town on the interior of the Big Island surrounded by ranches. Not only was it my first trip, but it was my first time meeting my bother-in-law and nieces. There is way to much to try to write here about my love for the Big Island.

Most of the time I spent at Momma’s House Thrift shop working for my sister-in-law. The time there was amazing. The shop helps to support those in recovery, youth groups, and to make people aware to the  ice (meth) use on the island and child prostitution os a result. It is so bad that the Red Cross has considered it a human disaster. Not to sound like a Debbie Downer, but being the type of person that likes to see the hope in the bad I did. Many people came into the thrift shop offering money to help get the sober homes off the ground, offered hotel rooms in D.C. to support the youth group trip, and donate merchandise worth $100’s of dollars. More importantly the people who worked there were getting the support that they needed. The shop was keeping some sober while giving others the confidence they needed to show them what life can be like. It was an amazing experience.

Aside from Momma’s house here are a few of my favorite things:

The endless amazing views.

There were tons of rainbows. We saw a new one almost every other day.

The lava flows at Kalapana

Seeing an active flow from the Thanksgiving Eve eruption.

Hilarious signs that said “watch for falling coconuts” and “caution feral donkeys.”

Driving on Saddle road.

Sticking my hand out while driving through a rain cloud.

Views of the observatories on top of Mauna Kea.

Looking down and seeing the clouds below you.

Gorgeous flowers that grew bigger than Bug.

Lava jutting out from the ocean.

Graffiti is made out of coral to be eco-friendly.

Seeing steam rise out of caldera at the Volcano National Park.

Seeing where the 1956 eruption causing a lake of lava was in Kilauea.

Walking through a 500-year-old lava flow.

Realizing that I’m in love with lava.

Tiny outdoor airports.

Amazing view of the stars.

And my most favorite thing?

A potential job offer to work with kids in Hawaii. It’s a bit of a dream job and I have a about a year to decide. Not sure what to do… What would you do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 10:01 am

    Beautiful pictures!

  2. February 7, 2011 12:26 pm

    Those pictures are amazing!!! I would loveee to go to Hawaii 🙂

  3. February 8, 2011 3:42 am

    I think you should go for it and those photos totally made my day:) Its such a beautiful place! Hugs and kisses, sweetie pie

Leave a Reply

