Skip to content

Resolution Cheerleader: No Pain No Gain Dropping That Weight

January 14, 2011

When it comes to resolutions I’m a sucker. After all it is a full week after New Years and I’m still talking about resolutions. This year I’m pretty proud of my list. It isn’t unrealistic and it pushes me just enough out of my comfort zone that I’m not going to back down. So how are yours coming along? If you have actually stuck with your New Year goals congrats you are part of the 75% of the people who stick with them through the first week. And according to the Huffington Post in 6 months 46% of the people who made resolutions will stick with them.

So what goals did you make? If getting out of debt, weight loss,  getting organized, or getting more sleep is on your list you have more in common with most Americans and Australians than you think. These goals actually made up the most common New Years resolutions in both countries. As an avid goal setter I thought I might pull out my pom poms and help cheer on anyone who has decided to take on any of these goals. In this post let’s tackle those pesky pounds.

1. Don’t rush it: No matter what we always want those pounds gone last week.  You might want to sit down for this. It could get a little harsh. It won’t happen like that.  Weight loss is more of a mental state than anything. Just because you didn’t lose 10 pounds this week or you lost 5 last week and none this week don’t freak out. Don’t resort to tears and a bucket of deep-fried chicken. Healthy weight loss takes time. Allow yourself that.

2. Get support: I’ve heard it takes a village to raise a child, well it also takes one to lose that extra fat. Get your friends and family behind you. That means that they should understand that you are trying to eat better so it wouldn’t be the best idea to down pizza, beer, and ice cream in front of you while you pick at a salad. Make sure that you have a support system around you. Those who will cheer you on, go to the gym with you, be your conscience when you want to cheat, and push you off that couch when you just want to laze around. Your support should be your cheerleader.

3. Make exercising fun: The gym isn’t for me. I don’t lift weights or like the smell of sweat. I don’t like jogging on a machine that goes no where. The gym and I don’t get along. What I do like is dancing, yoga, and playing. So instead I do Namaste yoga in the morning, walk with my daughter during the day, and take African dance once a week. Get creative in what you do. Why not try:

  1. Trapeze classes
  2. Zumba
  3. Bollywood dance
  4. Trampoline dodgeball
  5. Yoga (there are many different types. Try to find one that suits you.)
  6. Capoeira,
  7. Kick boxing,
  8. Babysitting (have you ever chased a kid? They will run you into the ground)
  9. Hula hooping
  10. Explore your city on feet.

4. Eat pizza: Make sure to reward yourself. Set small goals for yourself. Maybe if you make it through the week without cheating you get to reward yourself with pizza or if you lose 10 pounds you get those shoes you have been eyeing. If all you are doing is looking at the end goal it is easy to loose your motivation. Allow yourself some slack. Reward yourself for the good that you are doing.

5. Set yourself up for success: Just as with everything in life you need to know your stuff if you want to succeed at lose. Figure out what is and isn’t okay to eat, surround yourself with healthy foods and great snacks, make a game plan for exercising.

What advice would you give to someone trying to lose weight?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 6:57 am

    I love introducing walking into my daily life as exercise. In London I used to talk 35/40 minutes to work, each way. It was almost enough exercise for the week, supplemented with the occasional run… Wish I could do that now. BB

Leave a Reply

