Skip to content

Wanted: An Awesome Apartment

January 5, 2011

R, Bug, and I have out grown our tiny apartment. As luck should have it a bigger apartment opened up in our complex. It was perfect: two bedroom with an office, a deck, and room for Bug to run. From the second I found out about this apartment I started daydreaming about what I wanted:

A room with a view.

Maybe somewhere on the water…

…or underwater. At least one room.

It has to have an amazing staircase so that I can make a grand entrance.

A place to hang a hammock.

A fish tank sink. Maybe with koi?

Grass for Bug to play in. Inside is fine.

An awesome bedroom.

A pond outback full of paper boats is a non-negotiable.

A very cute shed that I can turn into an art studio.

Instead I got:

Windows that leak cold air and should have been replaced two weeks ago. Oh, and there are no blinds or screens and we are on the first floor.

Only one door has a knob on it.

But that isn’t the biggest problem since most of the doors aren’t on the doors.

Oh and the toilet is broken. There is an area in the bathroom where the floor is rotted. The stove fan needs to be replaced but at least the new one is sitting on the floor in the dining room.

Also the people who have been in here working let all of their stuff.Oh, did I mention that we have been living here for 5 days and still don’t have a key?

Maybe I should learn to manage my expectations a bit better. On the bright side it is still the best apartment I have ever had.

Have you ever had issues with an apartment? What would your dream house look like?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 5:09 am

    well, great aspirations at least! but don’t worry, there are always teething troubles. soon you’ll be settled and happy…. xo bb

  2. January 5, 2011 8:02 am

    I love this inspiration and yes, I am constantly thinking about my dream home! We ended up moving out of our last apartment on really short notice because the neighbors started playing rap music from 7AM until 2 or 3AM the next day. So loud that everything in the apartment would be shaking and I had awful migraines all the time. Our landlord tried to tell them to stop and even tried to evict them because so many people complained, but they wouldn’t stop. It was horrible.

    Anyway. Don’t worry that it’s not perfect! There is always a period of settling in!

  3. January 6, 2011 3:53 am

    Ohh Im so sorry about your new place I bet it will be all done and fixed in a few days. I always daydream about amazing houses or aparments:) I would love to have a loft!
    Kisses and wish you a great day

Leave a Reply

