Skip to content

Ginger Tea To The Rescue

December 22, 2010

Being sick sucks. This week I was knocked out hard. Soar throat, tired, stiff, you name it and I had it. At one point I was driving through a parking lot and thought the cars were moving. Yeah, I was sick. Worse of all Bug has a bit of a cough. The doctor said she looks like we caught it early, but to watch out for walking pneumonia, which is going around. Great.

So as I sit here, coughing and wallowing in my own self pity, thinking about what should I do when I realized that I have a really awesome excuse to make my favorite sick time remedy: ginger tea. Now we aren’t talking about the stuff from the bag. Fresh ginger tea is so simple to make.

First peel some ginger.

Than cut off a few slices. About 3-4 if you want it mild 5-7 for a bit stronger.

Boil the tea and add in the slices. Boil for about 3 minutes. The water should appear a slight yellow color.

Pour yourself a glass, add a bit of honey, and kick your cold in the ass.

What do you do when you are sick?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 8:33 pm

    I love ginger tea! The minute I feel the first bit of sickness I tend to inhale buckets of tea – green tea, chamomile, ginger, whatever. Recently (and I swear this is what kept me from getting sick all through the fall) I’ve been drinking green smoothies or cooking up bowls of kale to eat when I start feeling a little off.

  2. December 24, 2010 8:21 am

    also works/ tastes great if you add in some black tea to the boil — then you get India boiled tea. an effective (though perhaps sad) shortcut: you can get some decent ginger tea teabags these days, but your approach is certainly better. xo bb

Leave a Reply

