Skip to content

Giving Thanks

December 15, 2010

My last attempt at one of my 101 goals was a miserable flop. Yes, remember how I was going to make a list everyday of things that made me happy, well I failed. Miserably. So, instead I asked some of my favorite bloggers what they were thankful for.

Elizabeth over at Beauty Bets is thankful for:

“My family, who sometimes drive me crazy. My friends, who believe I can do anything. My husband, who is preternaturally patient. My dog, who knows how to cuddle. A healthy body, a happy mind, Champagne, dinners out, TiVo, jeans that fit, good books, long hair, Hot Yoga, my laptop, my therapist, warm weather, white tank tops, under-eye concealer, coffee, the cabin, a car that runs, and airplanes that carry me to friends + family.”

Diana from exPress-o is thankful for:

“In 2010 I’m thankful for this invention called internet, because it helped me connect with hundreds of people around the globe with similar interests. It also enabled me to find a new passion in my life, a creative outlet: blogging. Another thing I’m thankful for is that a “certain” coffee company finally opened in my city – sitting there with my notebook, sipping cappuccino sparked some cool ideas to post about.”

The very inspirational Matt from Look At My Happy Rainbow is thankful for:

“This year, I’m reminded, as I am every year, how truly lucky I am.  I’m grateful for the opportunity to work with little sprouts that come to school each day full of energy, enthusiasm, and a genuine joy for learning and life.  Waking up each morning and knowing I’m heading off to a job I love is a true blessing.  Thank you.”

Finally, from Bombay Beauty:

Gratitude for me is both bedrock and topsoil:  steady, unwavering, and
deep within me, but also in a different way influenced by the surface
of my mind, spontaneous and shifting with gusts of joy.

There are some things I am always grateful for, so much so (and
regrettably) that they almost get taken for granted. But that is
exactly what they should not be: family, friends, loved ones.

There are other things, no less important, that I feel gratitude for
in sudden bursts of heady joy: warm air on a calm day, the sun
breaking through clouds, the exultation of great art well experienced.

Then there is one thing that makes it on to both lists: life itself.
It seems too basic to say, but one is reminded from time to time how
precious is this thin vessel of perception, life. I am grateful for it
always, and grateful for it all the more in the joy that life brings.

So what am I thankful for? I’m happy to say that this year I have my life back on track. That I get to spend my days with my beautiful daughter singing the alphabet and seeing how hard I can get her to laugh. I am thankful that I am surrounded by snow-covered mountains and that I remember to take the time to look at them. Most of all I am thankful for my family being happy and healthy.

What are you thankful for this year?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 11:32 am

    I am thankful for my husband who brought me flowers for no reason last night; my dogs for chewing on each others ears; advent calendars because I never get too old for them; flannel sheets on cool mornings.

    And so many other things- thanks for the reminder to recall some of them 🙂

  2. December 15, 2010 2:17 pm

    Thank you, darling for including me:) Im going to link this post tomorrow morning:) Hugs and kisses…Looks amazing

  3. December 16, 2010 5:31 am

    Beautiful post ~ what a great idea!

    I am thankful for this wonderful blogosphere of ours!

    xoxox,
    CC

  4. December 16, 2010 7:24 am

    great post! I am thankful for my husband and kids…and that we are all happy and healthy.:) thecoolkidsblog.com

Leave a Reply

