Skip to content

Sugar Cookies

December 8, 2010

One of my fondest memories of my grandmother was her sugar cookies. Every time I went to her house she would have 3 or 4 giant butter containers full of them. I swear she had a factory hidden somewhere in her house devoted to making them. She had to considering how many my brother and I would wolf down. Even the burnt, crispy ones were delicious.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Start by mixing together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar. Next beat in the eggs and vanilla.

Once that is all mixed stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Than sit it the fridge to chill over night.

 

To cook them heat the oven to 400 degrees and bake for 6-8 minutes each. The dough yields about 60 cookies.

Do you have any treats that you associate with the holidays.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:37 am

    we have those every year, they are my fave 🙂

  2. December 8, 2010 2:40 pm

    I love suger cookies:) I cant wait to try your recipe:)
    Kisses

    Ps: I am hosting a stunning leather clutch GIVEAWAY today, just in time for Holiday Parties

Leave a Reply

