Skip to content

Part 1: Why Goals Are Important

December 6, 2010

****This is an 8 part series about goals setting, developing goals, and how to achieve them that I will post every Monday in December and most of January.

It’s that time of the year. The time when we overeat, over spend, than set resolutions that if we are lucky last two weeks. I consider those who make it two weeks miracle workers since most of my resolutions are broken when the I wake up on January 1st. Why do most resolutions not last? Well many are made in haste. They are huge goals (ex stop smoking, lose weight, be healthy, etc…) with no real direction.

Now, I’m not trying to crush dreams or good intentions. What I’m trying to get at is that Goals are good. Resolutions are not. Everyone needs goals or a direction. After all we can’t sit around waiting for someone to tell us what to do or what job you will do next. Achieving the things you want in life (think about that dream trip, that job promotion, or that bad habit you want to drop) takes being proactive. If you don’t take that first step towards your dreams they will never happen. Let me repeat that. If you don’t take steps towards achieving your dreams they will NEVER happen. There is no fairy godmother or genie that will appear to hand them out.

Goals are something that can be used in both our careers and personal lives.  They help us create a clear picture of what we want, how we need to get there, how well we are working towards accomplishing them, and what we need to change.

“The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score.” – Bill Copeland

Why we all should have goals:

Focus: Having a goal is easy. However achieving it is the hard part. However by creating a game plan for your goal you create direction. It helps to break it down into smaller pieces making the goals more achievable.

Clarity: Sometimes it is hard to know what we want. We can drift around aimlessly looking for that something that is missing. Goals can create meaning. They give you an end destination, a purpose, a path, something to work towards.

Create accountability: Yes, this is a weakness of mine. It is simple to push things off onto other things. Saying it isn’t the right timing or n the blame onto someone else. Yes, I am the queen of saying I want to lose 10 pounds only to find that after a month of no results I haven’t dropped a pound. Now if I had a goal to not eat those doughnuts and exercise at least 4 times a week and didn’t I know where to lay the blame.

Happiness: Who doesn’t want to be happy? After 15 years of studying 3,500 people n 2008 Bruce Headey found two very important things. First was that happy people are guided by clear-cut goals. The second thing was that these happy people were also risk takers who didn’t make excuses and never gave up.

So now that I talked about why goals are important I want to hear what you think about goals. Do you have any? Have you found your life different when didn’t have goals vs when you had clear-cut ones?

Read part 2.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 6:39 am

    this is such a great post and a good reminder about setting goals 🙂 perfect for the new year!

  2. December 6, 2010 12:51 pm

    I love this post! I am always setting goals for myself, both long term and short term. Making plans for the future and putting them into action is the only way I know how to live; I believe it’s definitely one of the contributing factors to my happiness.

    Currently, my goals are career related. I started my own line of jewelry 1.5 years ago. My fiance` and I are planning a 1 year RV trip around the west part of the US starting March 1st. I’ll be selling my jewelry at festivals and shows along the way, which will take us from city to city. Its going to be fun, but its also part of a bigger goal for work. I’d like to get my jewelry in at least 10 boutiques by the end of December 2011.

    I set small goals that will help me achieve the bigger ones. So, i usually have a combination of short and long term goals… I try not to bite off more than i can chew, but its hard b/c i have so many things i want to accomplish. If I only had 2 more hands! 🙂

Leave a Reply

