Skip to content

Ultimate Carmel Apple Pie Of Delicious Goodness

November 15, 2010

Apple pie was a bit of a tradition in my house. Whenever my grandmother pulled out the rolling-pin and apples I knew that in the matter of a few short hours there would be a pie. Well, a pie that I wouldn’t be able to eat until whatever event she was making it for arrive. A pie that I would dance around as it mocked me and called my name. What can I say? I love apple pie. I love it so much that over the years I have analyzed it and theorized about apple pie so much that I went through so many receipts until I found a combination of two that I love. Bit obsessive, right? Yeah….

Making the crust:

What you will need

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup water

Mix together the flour, water, and salt than add in the shortening. Get in there and mix it with your hands.

Divide into two balls and refrigerate. I recommend overnight, but keep it in the fridge for no less than four hours.

What will come out is a light and flakey crust of deliciousness.

Making the caramel apples:

What you will need:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 8 apples

When it comes to apples get a good tart, crisp apple like a Granny Smith. This is key because the tartness of the apples offset and complement the sweetness of the caramel mix that will be added. I also think that the crisp apples hold up a bit better and don’t turn out a soggy as softer ones.

So first peal, core, and cut up the apples to the size you want and set them aside.

In a sauce pan melt the butter and flour in a sauce pan on medium heat until it smells a bit like roasted almonds.

Now add in the white sugar, brown sugar, and water. Stir and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and let the caramel mix simmer for about five minutes.

While the caramel is simmering roll out the dough. This dough is extremely sticky so make sure that the counter and rolling-pin is well floured. Sometimes I add a little flour to the top of the dough as I roll it out.

Now this is a personal preference, but I like to get the crust nice and thin.

Putting the pie together:

Put the rolled out dough into your pie pan and lay out the apples. With each lay of apple add a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Make sure to spread it out evenly on the apples.

The top crust should be laid out in as a lattice. If you have it done this before don’t worry it isn’t that hard. There are two was to do this. The first being easiest is to cut out strips from the dough. Lay some of the strips horizontally across the pie about 1 1/2 inches apart. Take the rest of the strips and lay them on top of the horizontal strips again 1 1/2 apart.

The other way to do it is to cut your strips next lay out two strips on top of the pie in a cross. Lay out the strips from the inside out weaving them together.

Finally pour the caramel on top of the completed pie and bake. Put something under the pie since the caramel can spill or boil out a bit on the edges.

Bake for 15 minutes on 425 than turn down the heat to 350 for 35 to 45 minutes.

What is your favorite Thanksgiving treat?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

