Skip to content

Caramel Apple Cupcake Receipt

October 22, 2010

R has been itching me to get back into the kitchen and with all of the holidays approaching he has found every excuse to get me to bake. Trying to keep the Halloween theme in mind I decided that I really wanted to make a caramel apple cupcake.

Cupcakes:

1/3 cup unsalted butter

3/4 cup of sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/3 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon ground cinnimon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon cloves

1/2 cup of applesauce

1 large, tart apple

Start by creaming together the butter with sugar.

Add in the 2 eggs and vanilla.

In a separate bowl combine together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and brown sugar.

Mix the dry mix in with the wet mix and add in the applesauce.

Next add in the spices. I think the 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and 1/8 teaspoon cloves tastes great, but if you want a spicier cupcake (which I also tried) double the quantities.

As for the apples tart apples, like Granny smith, work the best. Cut the slices up into large peices and mix into the batter.

Bake at 350 for 18 minutes.

Frosting:

1/2 Bag of caramels

1/2 cup of half and half

Confectioners sugar

The frosting is really easy Melt 25 caramels into a 1/2 cup of half and half on low until smooth. Than place the mixture into the fridge until cool. Once cool add confectioners sugar to the mix until you get the consistency you want for icing. I personally think it tastes and looks better if it is a bit runny since it looks more like a real carmel apple.

I got the Halloween decorations for the cupcakes at Target, but think that it would also look cute with popsicle sticks (like a candy apple)

R volunteered to test out what I was baking and gave me the seal of approval and according to him he has the ultimate say on food.

What is your favorite Halloween treat?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bombaybeauty permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:25 am

    This looks soooo good. In this season I would love to cook with apples but must confess I’m a little intimidated by the pealing (chopping has never bothered me…) xo bb

    • October 22, 2010 11:31 am

      Pealing got better for me when I gave up and started using a potato pealer. Prior to that I would nearly kill myself with the knife. Even though I love baking I’m a mess in the kitchen.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Round Up « Reinvented

Leave a Reply

