Skip to content

My Dark And Twisty Day

October 4, 2010

Friends, I almost didn’t post today. Both my apartment complex and I are still in a tailspin over some events that took place yesterday. It has been a problem with one of the tenants and her ex-boyfriend that got out of control. Actually there is much more to this than that, but let’s just say that the ex is an addict and extremely violent and the woman, well she has a small child, extremely rude, and a possible dealer. R and I just happen to live directly under her apartment which we now feel isn’t that safe of a place to be. Many other tenants share those sentiments. However today’s post isn’t about those people. It’s about what happened after we left our barricaded apartment.

There is a quote that I love from Grey’s Anatomy. Somewhere along the way someone describes Grey as “dark and twisty.” A perfect way to describe how I get. Yesterday was a dark and twisty day for me. When R and I decided that it was safe enough to make a run for the car we did. We needed to get away from the dark and twisty place and focus on the positive. Sure enough a trip to Trader Joe’s, the Fremont Market, PCC, and the best steak nachos I ever had got me out of my head space.

So friends I would like to share with you the wonderful things that picked up my mood yesterday.

Bug was ready to go after her nap and a lunch of hot dogs.

I make no bones in hiding the fact that I’m in love with the fall and pumpkins are some of my favorite parts.

Yes, this is Bug’s first Halloween where she can actually understand what is happening. Yes, her hair is the same color as the pumpkin.

These were outside of Trader Joe’s. The sign said that they were pumpkin plants. Crazy.

Meanwhile Bug was working hard to pick up the pumpkin. I’m glad she couldn’t because her next action would have been to throw it.

Next stop the Fremont Sunday Market where R got me a beautiful flower.

He also go me this amazing hat as an early anniversary gift. It really makes me feel glamorous.

It makes Bug feel glamorous too.

That was my day. What do you do when you get into the dark and twisty place? What things put you in a good mood?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 3:12 pm

    “Dark and twisty” is a great description. When I’m dark and twisty, I 1) listen to good music, 2) call someone who understands me or 3) eat something delicious. Number 3’s a bit of a cop-out, but it works in a pinch.

    Bug dresses much better than I do, and your new hat IS very glamorous. Happy [early] anniversary!

  2. October 4, 2010 7:39 pm

    Sweet post and I believe things that put me in a good mood are music and green tea. =D

    xo
    Sophie

  3. October 4, 2010 9:08 pm

    When I’m feeling dark and twisty, I like to put on some hip hop music and dance all crazy around the living room. This usually involves a vodka drink of some sort, but my mood usually cheers up soon after! Sometimes I clean while I do this, too.

  4. October 5, 2010 8:40 am

    Music…
    Or getting out of the house tends to work for me…not always though.

Leave a Reply

