Skip to content

Shakespeare In The Park

September 27, 2010

Oh Romeo, it has been many a fortnight since tho hast seen thee last. I don’t think I have read Shakespeare since High School and even than I avoided it. Just thinking about Hamlet still gives me the chills when my 8th grade English teacher assigned the role of Horatio to me act out in front of the class and went on to berate me in front of everyone that I wasn’t fighting the ghost enough with my words. It’s been 14 years and I still wake up with nightmares. So, what made me ever want to see Shakespeare In The Park? Who knows, but in large part it was the enthusiastic actors prancing through Fremont.

I finally got R to watch Bug and took off to the outdoor amphitheater at a local park. The stage was hidden behind a group of trees that made for an amazing wall of the theater. The play? It was Romeo and Juliet. The acting? Amazing. Did I get what was going on? Yes, but only because I knew the story. Will I go again? Oh yes, next summer I will be front row and center.

Have you ever been to Shakespeare In The Park? What did you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 6:27 pm

    This sounds great. Watching things outside just makes them so much more magical, it just adds that little something extra. Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. September 27, 2010 7:35 pm

    I never, ever liked reading assigned Shakespeare plays in high school. Then I went through this phase where I thought I was really poetic and artsy, and I convinced my parents to give me my great grandfather’s copy of all of Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets because I “loved” reading them. And then I grew up, realized I was lying to myself, and acknowledged the fact that Shakespeare kinda sorta puts me to sleep. :-/

    BUT, I have loved every Shakespeare play I’ve ever seen performed live!

Leave a Reply

