Skip to content

Relax, Failure Is Okay.

September 7, 2010

What are you afraid of? Why? My deepest fear is failure. Just thinking about it sometimes makes back away from an idea that I had. Many times in the excitement of a new project or idea that little voice in my head quietly starts saying  “What if you fail? What will others think? What if you are not cut out of this? What if, what if, what if…?” Until that voice is so loud that I no longer follow my original idea.

Well, today is the day to give yourself permission. Permission to take the first step to go after what you want. Permission to not be afraid to fail. Permission to ignore the voices of doubt. Permission, to dare I say it, fail.

Without failure how would we know what works? Failure is a stepping stone. It helps us to make mistakes and learn from them. Failing isn’t a reflection of you, but quitting is. Don’t internalize a mistake. Use it as a learning experience. Ask yourself:

  • Why did the idea fail?
  • Where can I fix it or what can I do in the future to make it work?
  • What did I learn from this?

Fail and move on. Move on fast. Don’t let it get to you.

So, you have a brilliant idea, but still feeling a little nervous about moving forward? It’s normal. Everyone (yes, even that beautiful person with perfect hair who lives in the amazing house down the street. You know who I’m talking about.) Ask yourself what is holding you back? Identify the fear. What is at the core of why you think your idea will fail? How can you counteract that? Could you take a class, find a mentor, do some research, etc… What do you need to succeed and over come the road bump? Be proactive.

Have you ever been afraid to fail? What would you do if you knew that you wouldn’t fail? How do you overcome the fear of failure?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 10:46 am

    Failing is learning, for the good or for the bad, but learning anyway. The more afraid I am when facing a situation, the clearer my head gets and the better decisions I make.
    And even if then I fuck up, and I fail, I am glad I took the chance, because the next time I will succeed.
    Look at the Road Runner… Always gets up, dusts him self and tries again.
    I overcome fear of failure… by just doing it and being awake enough along the process to allow some changes that may prevent failure.
    😀

  2. Jasmine permalink
    September 7, 2010 3:25 pm

    I’m trying to get into freelance writing … but that moment where I email my submissions – hitting the send button – is always a nervewracking one. I’ve been taking a deep breath and saying “the worst they can do is say no” and hitting the ‘send’ on the exhale! It helps to keep it in mind. Especially because the best they can do is say yes!

Trackbacks

  1. 100 Ways To Reinvent Your Life Part 2 « Reinvented

Leave a Reply

