Skip to content

Fake Tide Pools

September 4, 2010

I was ecstatic to find out that in Bellingham last week were the lowest tides that had happened in a very long time. I did post a photo a few days ago with one of my photos and promised more, so here they are.

This was the beach the tide pools were on. Tons of families were everywhere.

So, after getting there I found out that there weren’t “real” tide pools with ecosystems and what not, but I did not let that get to me because as far as I could see there were purple star fish. I love these fat little guys. When I first saw them in Stanley Park in Vancouver I almost didn’t leave.

Even though one of the local kids informed me that these are “common, ever day star fish” I didn’t care. They are my favorite.

Beautiful to look at, but not so much fun to walk on. In the future I need to remember not to wear flip flops to explore tide pools.

I thought that this was a squid at first, but when I got closer I saw that it was a massive, pink star fish. The little girl got me to touch it and it is not what I imagined it to feel like. It was a bit gooshey and rough. I didn’t touch the suckers. The girl advised me against it.

Bug wasn’t happy. She is a water baby and wanted to get down and play in the water and eat everything.

What is your favorite thing to see at the beach?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 5:54 am

    How fun! I love doing things like this. I too love to photograph & explore. Unfortunately I am landlocked though being in the mid US, no starfish for me to come across!

  2. September 4, 2010 9:30 am

    Those starfish are gorgeous!

  3. September 5, 2010 5:30 pm

    Those tide pools (real or not) are incredible. I’ve never seen a live starfish up close — I actually didn’t even know there were purple ones! You got some really great shots here.

    And thanks for your comment on my blog. I always love wandering over to other people’s blogs to see what they do.

  4. September 6, 2010 2:11 am

    Great pictures. I love the sea enemonies in rock pools, sticking your finger in the middle of the tendrels and having them wrap around your finger is still as much fun now as it was as a kid. For some reason I hate star fish though. Blah!

Leave a Reply

