Skip to content

Decluttering

August 23, 2010
tags:

Hello again to any pack rats out there. Yes, I am still trying to declutter my apartment. Space is tight and I want to redecorate but this time my stuff is going to another cause. A rummage sale is being held by my dance teacher and the profits are going to build a cultural center in Guinea. I’m stoked that my “junk” is going to help others, but once again I am going through my things. However this time I have set guidelines:

If it doesn’t fit get rid of it: Do you have clothing too small or too big? Is it out of style? Have you worn it in the last year? Are there holes in it that aren’t there intentionally? If you can answer yes to any of these questions why are you keeping it? Only items that you wear, are your size, and are in good condition can stay the rest gets thrown out.

Don’t do it all at once: Clearing the clutter can get overwhelming. Instead break it down into smaller section. Tackle an area day by day. Maybe a closet or a desk and then stop.

Don’t over think it: All you need to do is give something a glance to decide if you want to keep something or not. The longer you look at it the more time you have to think about it and convince yourself to keep it. One quick look is all you need.

Go at it alone: Do you live with a pack rat of someone who will convince you to keep something. A simple “do you really want to get rid of that” or “do you remember when…” Sometimes help can be good, but rethink who you are going to get to help unclutter your home.

There are some great benefits to having an uncluttered home. Not only can your old items go to help someone else, but throwing a yard sale can bring in a few bucks. And it can cause stress. Seeing the clutter reminds us of work that is undone. I was once told the in Fung Shui says that clutter drains us of positive energy. I have also been told to hang wind chimes above areas of clutter since it will draw the eye up and away from the mess. If that’s true I would have a ceiling covered in wind chimes. Maybe I should just hang one above my daughters head. It seems where ever she is that is where the mess is…

Do you have clutter? What tricks do you use to unclutter your living space?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 12:05 pm

    Oh, clutter… we have a strange relationship… I’ve been decluttering since spring this year.
    Well, not everyday!
    I did closet (clothes and accessories) shelves and drawers. Now I still have to declutter my desk… gosh… but it feels sooooo good when you’re done!
    And most of all I’m trying to declutter my mind, writing really helps!

    Nice 101 list btw! I wanted to take back tarot reading, maybe you’re interested? Let me know 😉

  2. August 23, 2010 12:36 pm

    Supposedly I’m austere by some standards (this just means I know people with more clutter). I’ve gotten better over time (books were the first thing I stopped hoarding after moving to 3 new NYC apts with progressively less books each time) but I also came to see clutter as “more things to maintain”. I realized recently that I don’t even like large pieces of furniture if I can avoid it (I have a mental block to getting another large wardrobe after it took me forever to disassemble my last behemoth).

    I did some of this yesterday – I’ve been trying to organize my closet since it’s awkwardly divided up (2 dressers and a closet) and makes me just throw clothes in a pile instead. And I think I really have to focus on what I love/want that will create simplicity/aesthetics I want and what WON’T (which goes out the door). I do think doing a lot at once, although sometimes overwhelming, actually takes my attachment to any one particular item down a notch or two and makes it easier. I can only be “really attached” to so many things when I’m looking at everything at once without me finally starting to be detached from the greater amount of it, realizing the futility.

  3. August 24, 2010 2:01 am

    Eeep, I’m in the middle of trying to clear out my clutter. We’ll see how that goes. I decluttered my whole sewing room over the weekend!

  4. August 24, 2010 3:18 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Love your pictures and words here – will be back for more!

  5. August 24, 2010 12:13 pm

    I am so bad at this. Recently, I moved into another state, so I just packed up my car with everything I could fit and, voila! Clutter free.

    Its been a month, and its already starting to pile up. wtf

Trackbacks

  1. How To Be Happy Now « Reinvented
  2. Stress Is The Killer « Reinvented
  3. 100 Ways To Reinvent Your Life Part 4 « Reinvented

Leave a Reply

