Skip to content

Out Of The Closet

July 30, 2010

Once upon a time I was a single girl living in Los Angeles with a giant walk in closet, but I traded my Kate Spade shoes and Chan Lu dresses in for snow boots and North Face gear when I moved to Seattle with my boyfriend. Now my shared closet space is cut in 1/3 and my days are no longer focused on thoughts of coordinating colors and how to merchandise, but instead my days are filled with strollers and figuring out how to fit all my stuff, my boyfriend’s stuff, and now all of our baby’s stuff into a 900 sq foot apartment. I love my life, but miss my closet. It is time to streamline my wardrobe. This means donating/ throwing out clothing, jewelry, and shoes that are old, haven’t been used in years, or are just plain falling apart. This is easier said than done.

I am a pack rat.  Yes, I came from a long line of people who keep everything for sentimental value or just because it may be useful in the future. Nothing is thrown out in hopes that someone, somewhere, for some reasons may want that particular item in the future.  It runs deep in my blood. We hold on to items that are no longer needed for no other reason just to say “aren’t you glad I kept that” when someone mentions an item that they had in the past. Just the other day my grandmother asked me if I wanted several shirts that I wore 14 years ago and thought that I had donated to Good Will 8 years ago. Her reasoning “I though you would want them again.” So, my ability to eliminate anything is near impossible. However I am determined to downsize.

Yesterday I pulled out my vintage, blue makeup box that is full of my jewelry and sorted the good, the ugly, and the broken. Honestly the amount of broken astonished me and that is the number one reason it needs to be organized. However with over half of my stuff being on the opposite side of the country and this includes my large jewelry box the organization won’t be as complete as I would like it. On the bright side I am finally getting rid of several pairs of earrings that I have been missing the match to for more years than I care to admit (I’m still keeping my fingers crossed on one pair being found that I lost somewhere between Pennsylvania and Maine. I haven’t found the mate in California and have yet to find the match in Seattle, but my fingers are crossed!). I also have a nice handful of items to give to Good Will.

Today I opened the closet and tore out some of my shirts. The fact I found 20 was a huge surprise and a struggle, but I did it. Not to worry. The closet is still packed, my stuff still spills over into the closet in the nursery, and my stuff still out numbers my boyfriends clothing 5 to 1. Some how I don’t think he is impressed with my accomplishment.

The shoes will have to wait for another day. However it is time to downsize.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. CINDY ASHLEY MILLER permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:45 am

    Hi…luv ur site, btw…Currently i volunteer time on a regular basis @ my county’s food bank for the poor, and receive tons of satisfaction for doing so…

    Prior…while still in Law School…i used to volunteer @ Goodwill, in one of their thrift stores…

    You would be shocked how many times i saw shoppers’ faces literally light-up, when they saw quality, useable stuff such as what is in ur closet…for sale @ a fraction of the item’s original price…and i am referring to those who could never afford the original price…

    When u finally clean out that closet…and hopefully donate the good stuff to a worthwhile charity…u will be doing such a nice thing for others.

    • July 30, 2010 9:54 am

      It’s really good to hear that. I know that it will go to a good cause, but rarely do I think of the reactions. Maybe I should use this as an inspiration and go through my closet and storage unit again.

      • CINDY ASHLEY MILLER permalink
        July 30, 2010 10:15 am

        Well, do not do toooo much @ a time…or the whole “closet-cleaning” thing will lose appeal. 😉

  2. sondic permalink
    August 4, 2010 10:52 am

    I love your 101 Things list! Reading your blog has inspired me to start a list of my own. Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Decluttering « Reinvented

Leave a Reply

