Skip to content

The Power Of Words

July 26, 2010
tags: ,

What it is about quotes that people love so never I will never know, but I find whenever I have a few moments of time I search for them. This one stopped me. Every time I read this it strikes a chord in my heart.

Many times we stay quiet when we should speak up and it got me thinking about things that I have said or have been told to me when I needed the most.

Many year ago I was lost. Every door seemed shut, every move wrong, where life was taking me seemed to come up with a dead-end and I found myself begging for a sign of something to come. In no means am I a particularly religious person, but one day a friend invited me to go to church with her so I went. She introduced me to the minister and when took our seats. At the end as I was walking out the door the minister looked at me and said to me “it will all come together.” The moment stopped me in my tracks. It was the words I needed to hear to keep going on.

Several years later I was working at a camp for at risk children. During this time I became close to many of the kids that were there, particularly my lively cabin of 10 girls between the ages of 9-10. We had a set of twins who didn’t look much a like nor did they act alike. In fact their differences were astounding, but from what they told me at home they are treated as if they are exactly the same and even expected to dress alike and loved being at camp because they could show their differences. When the end of their camp session came to an end I tucked each of the girls in and told them how I would miss them and talked with them for a minute. When I got to the one twin I talked to her about all of the careers that she told me she wanted pursue and said that I think she would make an excellent writer and that I would keep everything that she wrote for me. She asked me if I “really believed it.” “Of course.” I reassured her and went on to tell her that she could do anything that she could do anything she long as she worked hard to obtain it. Immediately she started to cry. No one, she said, had ever believed in her or told her anything like that before. Unfortunately it didn’t take long to see that this was common of the vast majority of the girls at camp. From that point on I made it my mission to find at least one thing in each of the kids and encourage them. It was an enriching summer for me and hopefully many of the girls I met.

Share your story. Have you ever given or received words at a moment of need?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 6:53 am

    I love quotes. And this is a good one!

Leave a Reply

