Skip to content

101 Things: Things I’m Thankful For How About You?

November 1, 2010

Thanksgiving is nearing and for so long I’ve been going through the emotions. When I was younger we would tell each other what we were thankful for, but as the years went by we stopped. While on a phone call with a friend I made a comment about giving the positive a priority in my life and was shocked when my friend told me that it was great for me to do that, but she can’t. There is just too much bad stuff in her life to focus on being happy. It really made me sad to think that she would choose not to be happy.

Now it is no secret that I believe in the power of positive thought and with Thanksgiving being the time for being grateful it is no better time to go after one on my 101 Goals: Starting a gratitude book. I’ve tried this many times, but have never stuck with it. When I came across information about research that shown that people who thank the people in their lived, write down their blessings on a regular basis, or mail letters to people who have changed their lives have significantly less anxiety and lowered depression as well as increased life satisfaction and hope. Couple that with everywhere I look people seem to be giving thanks (here, here, and here). The world is telling me that is time start being more grateful.

I’m asking anyone who reads this blog or who happens to stop by to join me because let’s face it I work better when I have people egging me on and sharing their progress with me.

So, how does this gratitude book work? Every night take a few minutes to write down at least 3 things that you are grateful for that day. At first it will be easy and then get a bit harder, but the more you do it the easier it will be to see the joys in each day without trying.

Where do you record all this happiness? Write it in a notebook, scrap it, tweet it, blog it, tie it to a balloon and let it float away, create a video about it, write it in the comments section of my posts, paint it on your wall, write it on post it notes and hang them on your bathroom mirror, write it in your diary, write them on your hand, or put it in a letter. It doesn’t matter where, just write it down.

So who wants to join me? I will be tweeting my joys all month. Feel free to tweet me or post in the comments each day what your joys are? What were you thankful for today?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 7:18 pm

    Even though I’m home sick today, I parked myself in front of the computer and got SO much done! This past month has been the most stressful month I’ve had in awhile and it was really nice to have a whole day to myself without being bothered (even though my stomach felt kinda yucky). I’m thankful I finished a book report for school, updated two websites for my coffee shop, and got a few things cleaned around my apartment! I also took a really nice bath with lavender oil and sea salt. Ahhhh! :o)

Trackbacks

  1. Giving Thanks « Reinvented

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

